In Sickness and In Health

I know the title of this post sounds scary, but let me first assure you that W and I are both ok. This is actually about a loved one’s well being and not our own.

Because we are newlyweds, everything seems great and whenever anyone asks us about married life we let them know we are loving it. But it also means we are grown ups who will have some grown up issues to face. Our first hurdle is dealing with a chronic illness that plagues my beloved grandfather, Poppa John (aka The Man). This disease is pulmonary fibrosis and it sucks – hard. He has had it for quite some time now but we have come to a point where it destroys his ability to do almost anything. The smallest effort requires all of his energy and oxygen. It threatens his plans daily because his oxygen depletes quickly and he must rest to catch his breath. The Man comes from a generation of people who work hard, no matter their plight, so all he wants to do is go to the office each day. Like I said, it sucks really hard.

I have been in Texas for two weeks now, one of which Poppa John was in the hospital and the other I spent in my childhood home with my parents and my youngest sister. I was there trying to offer help and comfort to whoever needed it. Although I think we all needed it. My extended family on my mother’s side is not normal – but in a good way. We are extremely close with all of our aunts & uncles (including greats), and cousins (both first and second). My grandmother, Poppy, has been amazing but I suppose that comes with their 60 years together.

I am back at home with W now and we are getting back into our normal routine. He was able to spend a long weekend in Texas over the course of my stay, but two weeks is a long separation as newlyweds. I don’t tell those who ask about marriage and all that it entails these details so this was my chance to talk about it. Prayers for Poppa John would be greatly appreciated – we sure do love The Man.

3 thoughts on “In Sickness and In Health

  1. All of you have been in my thoughts and prayers! You have a great family and I am glad that I got to meet your grandparents through the weddings! I know how hard it is to watch someone you love struggle. I pray for peace for you and your family and for comfort for Poppa John…The Man!
    Love,
    Chrystal

  2. Pingback: Catching Up | The Watkins Wanderings

Leave a comment