Missoni for Target: My Story

As a fashion merchandising major who studied abroad in Italy, I have always coveted anything Missoni. When the fashion blogs initially discovered the collection for Target and revealed the lookbooks, I started creating my mental list of personal must-haves (i.e. absolutely everything). This is my story about the pursuit of said personal must-haves.

On Tuesday, September 13, I was there bright and early for the release of Missoni for Target. I woke up early, threw on workout clothes and flip flops, pulled my hair in a ponytail and stood in line at 7:45 with approximately 8 other people. When they opened the store doors, we all calmly walked in and went to the women’s clothing section. I grabbed my size in every. single. piece. of clothing. I then hurried to the shoe section where Target employees were still unloading boxes and loading the shelves. This was extremely helpful as they asked what styles and sizes I needed. They handed them straight to me, then did the same with the customers lined up behind me.

Now that my cart was filled to the brim with clothing and shoes, I grabbed a tie from the men’s section and ran toward the home section hoping for some throw pillows. Sidenote: I was secretly hoping that a stylish Italian designer tie would make up for my sin of gluttony when W saw the total amount spent. The throw pillows were all gone. GONE. Ok – deep breaths – let’s see if I can get the rolling carry-on bag in the luggage section. Also gone. GONE! At this point I’m thinking I did not take the 8 women seriously enough and I could kick myself. I lust over the black and white bike, which is highly unnecessary and $400.

At this point I decide to live by the motto “You get what you get and don’t pitch a fit.” I do have a full cart after all and I need to start trying on these clothes. They will only let me take in so many items at once and I am forced to leave my cart outside the dressing room. I start to panic, because who’s to say that the 20 crazy women now in the store won’t pilfer through my goods. I try on clothes in record timing, not bothering to hang anything back up, and keep switching piles between the dressing room and my cart. Oh God, everything fits, everything seems really well made, and now I’m in a major situation. I cannot spend $1,000 or more for a Target designer. So I find a quiet corner in the men’s section to debate each piece and make my cuts. As Heidi would say, “In fashion, one day you are in and the next you are out. Auf Wiedersehen.”

I limit myself to spending $500. I decide to purchase two wrap sweaters, one cardigan, one dress, two pair of tights, two pair of shoes (heels and flats), headbands, and the tie to make up for my sins. This is actually ideal because I have only spent $350-ish and now I can look to see if they had any online-only items (it’s a sickness I know).

After being denied access to the Target website all. day. long. I am finally granted access around 4:30 pm EST. At this point I call my sister and order clothing for her that she missed out on in her Target store. The home section is perpetually sold out, so no throw pillows for me. I’m about to close the screen, when I think “I should take one more gander while I’m allowed access.” One more section of Missoni goods catches my eye – the electronics section. I order an iPhone and iPad case for myself and my sister and call it a day.

Leave a Reply

